IN THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT FOR ALLAMAKEE COUNTY

STATE OF IOWA	
Plaintiff,	CRIMINAL CAUSE NO
Vs.	APPLICATION FOR WORK RELEASE
Defendant,	
I, the undersigned defendant in the above-captioned Work Release under Section 356.26 of the 2011 Cod	
That I hereby request the privilege of being release.	ased from jail to work for
Employer Name:	
Employer Address:	
Telephone Number:	
 I request to be released from jail at; Leave time □am / □pm, 	return time
Days to work; Su Mo Tu	□We □Th □Fr □Sa
Daily Work Hours: Start Time am /	pm Ending Timeam / _pm
3. I agree to abide by the Work Release Regulations which I have received and read.	adopted by the Allamakee County Sheriff, a copy of
Defendant Signature	Date
I, the undersigned employer, agree to employ the al forth herein and in accordance with the Work Relea Sheriff.	
Employer Signature	Date
OFFICE USE ONLY	
I hereby approve disapprove the above nar Program.	ned employer for participation in the Work Release
	Clark A. Mellick – Sheriff



ALLAMAKEE COUNTY JAIL WORK RELEASE REGULATIONS

- 1. All requests for work release must be made under Section 356.26 of the Code of Iowa, in writing on the form attached hereto, signed by the inmate and proposed employer and filed with the Clerk of District Court.
- The inmate or employer must furnish transportation to and from the jail.
- 3. Work release will be allowed only during reasonable hours when an officer is available to let inmates in and out of jail.
- 4. The Sheriff must approve all employers of inmates. In order to gain approval the employer must;
 - a. Comply with all applicable Federal, State, and Local laws
 - b. Pay the Federal minimum wage.
 - c. Pay all applicable taxes, including FICA and Federal and State unemployment taxes.
 - d. Carry workmen's compensation insurance and general liability insurance.
 - e. Provide safe working conditions that comply with OSHA and other applicable regulations.
 - Provide proof of compliance with the above conditions to the Sheriff when requested.
- 5. During work release an inmate shall not operate any motor vehicle unless he/she possesses a valid operator's license for the motor vehicle.
- 6. During work release an inmate shall not enter any licensed beer or liquor establishment, nor shall he/she use or possess any beer, liquor, or controlled substance, nor violate any Federal, State or Local laws.
- 7. The inmate must return to the jail at the time provided in the work release order.
- 8. The employer may pay all wages due an inmate directly to the Sheriff each week at the discretion of the Sheriff. If the Sheriff chooses to collect wages he shall account for such wages as provided in Iowa Code Section 356.29.
- 9. A sum not to exceed ten percent (10%) of the inmate's earnings may be expended by the Sheriff at the inmate's request for the purchase of goods to be used in jail.
- 10. An inmate granted work release will be charged a \$50.00 a day fee for everyday he/she is sentenced to in their order. The fee shall be paid in advance or arrangements for payment can be made with the Sheriff.
- 11. Work release will not exceed 12 hours per day and will not be granted for more than 6 days a week unless extenuating circumstances exist.
- 12. Any violation of these regulations or the rules of the jail shall result in suspension of the work release privilege pursuant to Iowa Code Section 356.35.
- 13. Upon the inmate's final release from the jail and by order of the court, the wages of the inmate maybe dispersed by the Sheriff for the following purposes and in the order stated.
 - a. Jail fee owed to the Allamakee County Jail.
 - b. Travel expenses to and from work.
 - c. Support of dependents according to Iowa Code Section 356.34.
 - d. Payment of his/her obligations
 - e. Balance to inmate.

ADOPTED this 1th day of January, 2019

Allamakee County Sheriff

APPROVED this day of January, under the provisions of Section 356.44 of the Code of Iowa.

Judge of the 1st Judicial District

JOHN BAUERCAMPER District Judge